Letting go.

June 10, 2009

It has been raining a lot here in Rhode Island this summer. So I’ve had to come up with lots of fun things for 2 kids to do indoors. Today, despite my initial desire to maintain clean floors today at all costs, I decided to let them play with a couple of measuring cups, a handful of steel bowls, and a pile of cornmeal. So far the mess is mostly contained to the paper they are playing on. We’ll see how long that lasts. Kids love scooping loose stuff in and out of bowls. It never fails.

Update: It was a success! I rolled out brown paper first, and the rest was easy to sweep up. (I used coarse meal, so there was no powder.) I should try to let go of my hangups more and just let the kids have fun.Playing with cornmeal

2 Responses to “Letting go.”

  1. kim said

    do you still have a baby bathing tub? it works for containing the cornmeal.

    • I don’t see how that would work? Maybe I have a weird kind of baby bath but I don’t think the kids would keep the cornmeal inside. Because neither of them could get inside at this point.

Leave a Reply

